Visual Kei

I’m not sure how many of you out there listen to visual kei (VK) bands but I know I sure enjoy their music. Most of the stuff I listen to (as in the genres) usually changes every few months or so. You know, like you’ve been eating rice for too long and decide to have noodles for once. Yeah, that’s what’s happening in my WMP and PSP lately, been changing quite a few songs though I still listen to some J-pop too as well.

Kagrra,

And for those who are clueless about visual kei, Wiki would say that…

Visual Kei (ヴィジュアル系, vijuaru kei?) refers to a movement among Japanese musicians, that is characterized by the use of eccentric, sometimes flamboyant looks. This usually involves striking make-up, unusual hair styles and elaborate costumes, often, but not always, coupled with androgynous aesthetics. Some sources state that Visual Kei refers to a music genre, or to a sub-genre of J-rock (a term referring to Japanese rock in general, with its own particular sound, related to glam-rock, punk and metal, and with strong emphasis on its unique style of dress; and some sources state that Visual Kei’s unique clothing and make-up fashions, and participation in the related sub-culture, is equally as important as the sound of the music itself in the use of the term.

 the GazettE

alice nine.

Well, some of the VK bands I’d listen to are alice nine., the GazettE and Kagrra,. The most interesting part about VK bands is that I find their music more enjoyable as compared to a normal rock band, say High and Mighty Colour (yikes, don’t get me wrong, Maki-chan is still cute!). Though I feel that more people actually prefer a VK band’s looks and appearance to their quality of songs and music. Either that or majority of the fans are just girls. =/ Wait, aren’t they the same? Anyway, I find listening to some rock actually helps me to be in the mood and to keep me awake to sit down and actually do some studying. Most of the time, especially when studying, I would often blast some rock songs sung by the bands mentioned above. Particularly GazettE’s latest single, Guren (紅蓮).

PV of “Guren” by the GazettE.

Oh, besides rock and pop songs, I also listen to quite a fair share of trance as well, which all of the tracks come from Granado Esapda’s OST. ^^; Hmm, what kind of music do you usually listen to?

17 Responses to “Visual Kei”


  1. 1 Squee April 26, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    I listen to 90% Visual Kei and 10% classical ^_^
    Welcome to Visual Kei Fandom!!! My fav bands are X Japan and Luna Sea

  2. 2 yumeno April 26, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    @Squee
    Yay for guys who look like girls lol.
    X Japan eh? The early pioneers of VK! ^^

  3. 3 Squee April 27, 2008 at 6:29 am

    I’m trying to look like a guy who look like a girl lol
    I started listening to VK stuff abt 10 yrs ago so that explains the older bands ^^

  4. 4 Squee April 27, 2008 at 6:38 am

    btw I jus realized that you’re from Pei Hwa sec and in NPCC….. if you have been helping out in school events you might have seen me b4 ^^
    I was the photographer for 2 events

  5. 5 yumeno April 27, 2008 at 9:05 am

    @Squee
    o.o What 2 events? Is one of them the school opening?

  6. 6 Squee April 27, 2008 at 11:14 am

    If I remember correctly it was a bursary presentation and another is a senior citizens day.

  7. 7 yumeno April 28, 2008 at 4:01 pm

    @Squee
    I see, I wasn’t there for both events :P

  8. 8 niikolhaiix June 9, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    PlOop!!!
    cuiatikos elloz
    jijijiji
    D=
    xD

  9. 9 reitsu June 21, 2008 at 12:52 am

    …If I could study while listening to VK (or any other music for that matter), I’d really be happy…XD

  10. 10 yumeno June 21, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    @reitsu
    Lol if only music is the thing we only need to study, it’ll be no prob for you.

  11. 11 Emily Hinata June 24, 2008 at 12:56 am

    I LOVE VISUAL KEIIIIII!!!!!!!!

    <3333!!

    KAGRRA *O*

    THE GAZETTE

  12. 12 Matsuo February 13, 2009 at 1:25 am

    Visual Kei is absolutely amazing. the GazettE is one of my favorite bands.

  13. 13 jagraham September 6, 2009 at 12:05 am

    I was introduced fairly recently to Visual Kei (through a few anime theme tracks in fact) and have grown to love it. MUCC and Girugamesh are favs at the moment, but some of the Nagoya bands seem pretty good too.

    I guess it’s going to be my noodles for a while. :)

  14. 14 Pomello April 20, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    I reviewed some VK bands on my blog. I was wondering if you had the same opinion?

  15. 15 Pomello April 20, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    my blog is http://sincerelypomello.wordpress.com/ if you’d like to check it out.
    i like kagrra, and the gazette too!

  16. 16 aemon & Riri April 26, 2010 at 3:58 am

    I.. like visual-kei aswell! ^_^.. favourite band is nightmare!

  17. 17 jrockvision July 16, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    Visual kei!!! <3

    wanna change link?


Leave a Reply

Subscribe

Click here to get my feeds. Subscribe to my feeds here!

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Stats

  • 153,343 hits since March 2008

